Sold out!

"Leviathan III" LP by Therion

This item is currently not available.


Product description

Comes on black double Vinyl in a gatefold.

The Swedish symphonic metal legends THERION release another masterpiece with their new studio album Leviathan III and complete their Leviathan trilogy. The band, founded over 35 years ago by mastermind Christofer Johnsson, was one of the first to combine metal with orchestral elements in the 90s and is now considered one of the most influential acts in symphonic metal. Now, THERION continues their genre-crossing musical journey with the third part of the Leviathan trilogy, which will be released on December 15, 2023, via Napalm Records.

The album begins with the powerful 'Ninkigal,' which catapults the listener directly into THERION's musical universe. The sophisticated composition is complemented by dramatic opera singing from Lori Lewis, alternating with dark growling and accentuated by catchy melodies. It is followed by 'Ruler of Tamag,' which enchants the listener with an acoustic guitar intro and female vocals before transitioning into a dark and heavy passage that builds into a cinematic symphony. THERION has always been known for their fearless courage to combine different musical styles, and on Leviathan III, they weave together classic symphonic metal with melodic death metal, neo-classical elements, and power metal, challenging their listeners, for example, with 'Twilight of the Gods.' The song is a wall of epic symphonic metal, consistently finding a balance between guitars, choir, and orchestra. 'An Unsung Lament' and 'Baccanale' surge forward at a high tempo and captivate with their compelling melodies, combining classic rock elements, captivating lyrics, and choirs into a fascinating mix. The lively 'Maleficium' provides a tension-filled duet between Thomas VikstrΓΆm and Lori Lewis, while the psychedelic 'Ayahuasca' transports listeners to foreign worlds with its hypnotizing male choir. Tracks like the fast-paced 'Nummo' showcase THERION's core competence with fierce guitar explosions, first-class classical singing, and choirs.

With the great variety of musical styles and elements represented on Leviathan III, THERION once again blur the boundaries between metal and classical music. With this opus, mastermind Christofer Johnsson not only proves his impressive musical talent but also demonstrates that THERION has perfected the combination of versatile styles and rightfully deserves their position as leading representatives of symphonic metal.

Pay by PayPal

Free Returns

30 days right of return

Excellent Service


Item no. 563996
Musical Genre Symphonic Metal
Media - Format 1-3 2-LP
Product topic Bands
Band Therion
Product type LP
Release date 15/12/2023
Gender Unisex

LP 1

  • 1.
    1 Ninkigal
  • 2.
    2 Ruler Of Tamag
  • 3.
    3 An Unsung Lament
  • 4.
    4 Maleficium
  • 5.
    5 Ayahuasca

LP 2

  • 1.
    6 Baccanale
  • 2.
    7 Midsommarblot
  • 3.
    8 What Was Lost Shall Be Lost No More
  • 4.
    9 Duende
  • 5.
    10 Nummo
  • 6.
    11 Twilight Of The Gods

Also available as